CSN honors 2018-19 outstanding students

The College of Southern Nevada will honor its 2018-19 outstanding students at 5:30 p.m. Friday, May 3 on the college’s North Las Vegas Campus.

The annual ceremony is intended to honor those students who demonstrate what CSN is all about – putting students first and helping to ensure they graduate or transfer to a four-year institution. A student from each department at the college is awarded, as well as the Regents’ Scholar and the Kim Gregory Memorial Scholarship recipient. Outstanding student award winners must maintain a 3.0 grade point average, be enrolled in at least nine credits and demonstrate tenacity in the face of obstacles.

Shawna Hunnicutt

Students being awarded include Shawna Hunnicutt, a formerly home-schooled biology student who has studied snakes with the Nevada Department of Wildlife, Andrew Boswell, an English major who juggles two jobs, volunteers at Opportunity Village and will soon be the first in his family to graduate college, and Narée Asherian, a CSN High School student who is studying musical theater and was named this year’s Regents’ Scholar.

This year, the CSN Foundation is excited to announce that all Outstanding Student Award winners who return to CSN or transfer to another NSHE institution will be awarded $1,000 scholarships.

Andrew Boswell

“I couldn’t be prouder of our students,” said Margo Martin, CSN vice president for academic affairs. “These outstanding students are evidence that with hard work and determination anything is possible. Thank you to our faculty and staff for always putting students first, and congratulations to all the honorees.”

The students being honored are:

Alexis Childs, Accounting, Finance & Computer Office Technology

Jiahui He, Applied Technologies

Shawna Hunnicutt, Biological Sciences

Sho Guo, Business Administration

Steehl Savell, Communication

Monique Moreno, Computing & Information Technology

Dacia Hogan, Criminal Justice & Emergency Services

Cassidy Arumsol Cho, Dental Sciences, Diagnostic Evaluation & Rehabilitation Services

Melike Durmaz, Education

Andrew Boswell, English

Haldrin Gonzalez, Fine Arts

Russell Henriquez, Health Related Professions

Allen Adamyan, Hospitality Management

Nicole Xophi Welch, Human Behavior

Alicia Block, Mathematics

Bailey Thurmond, Media Technologies

Catherine Kohl, Nursing

Lisa Kraisriwatana, Physical Sciences

Maria Mencos, Social Sciences

Gholamhossein Marvin, World Languages

Narée Asherian, Regents’ Scholar Award

Kevin Morphis, Kim Gregory Memorial Scholarship Recipient

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.